RSS

Daily Archives: September 20, 2011

Blind Her With Bliss (Book 1 of Tilling Passions Series) [Kindle Edition]

buy the eBook

by Nina

Uptight CPA, JULIE TILLING is tired of doing the right thing. When her friend from high school dies and Julie is the only one who believes he didn’t commit suicide, she takes it upon herself to explore the circumstances surrounding his death. When the investigation takes her into a world of sexy nightclubs and a one night stand that has her heart melting, Julie finds a naughty side of herself she didn’t know existed.

DAMON COREY didn’t come to Maine to become a shock jock. But when his dream of becoming a concert pianist seems unobtainable, the radio station’s offer is too good to pass up. Unfortunately, the one night stands and empty relationships are getting old–that is until a mysterious brunette falls into his arms and wraps around his heart, making him believe in love.

With their passion overheating and their sexual encounters exploding, Damon and Julie work to see beyond the masks that have protected them from the world. But will Damon’s enigmatic shock jock persona become Julie’s sexual undoing and reveal Damon as the missing piece that solves the puzzling questions surrounding her friend’s death?

*** Previously published under the title “Blind Love” ***

EXCERPT

“Does it ever get tiresome watching it?” Julie asked, daring to dip her toe in the waters of seduction.

“What?”

Good, her question threw him off-kilter. “You know. The people and what they’re doing? You see the two men and that woman over there?” Julie leaned to the side so Demon could see around her as she pointed to a shadowed corner of the bar below. “I thought they were dancing, but there’s definitely something more going on.” A nervous giggle escaped her lips. “The man in front is definitely buried deep in the woman, and the man in back…well, I’m not sure what he’s doing. But with their mouths open that way, I’m thinking they’re all really enjoying themselves.” She leaned back, her bottom grazing his thigh.

“Oh, they’re definitely getting it on.” Demon braced his hands on either side of her, pressing the solid plane of his chest against her back. They were both testing the waters. “And yes, I get tired of watching.” He leaned close to her ear, his breath the only thing separating his lips from her skin. “They put in extra spotlights that shine on the platform for me so I don’t have to stare at them all night. I mean, even a saint would get a hard-on seeing people go at it for three hours.” He rubbed against her. There was no mistaking his arousal.

Julie was enjoying their brazen flirtation. “I suppose you’re right.” She turned around to face him, purposefully rubbing her breasts across his chest. He didn’t move. “Did you originally bring me up here to relieve a little of that tension, Demon?”

“I don’t think you want to know what I was thinking before we got in the elevator.”

She tilted her head and cocked a brow, inviting him to share. “Oh, but I think I would.”

“This is probably a very bad idea.” He took a step back, but she moved with him.

She’d come this far and she had no intention of stopping now. “Maybe I was a little tipsy in the elevator, but I’m stone-cold sober now,” Julie said, laying her palm in the center of his chest. Her gaze swept the strong lines of his face, gauging his reaction. Even in the muted light of the office she could see the hunger sparking in his eyes. “We’re way past the stage of chivalry, Demon. I don’t need your protection.” She slid her thigh up his leg, surprised by her own audacity.

see all of Nina’s books

Bio – Nina Pierce

Award-winning erotic romance author, Nina Pierce, grew up in a house full of readers. So becoming enamored with books was only natural. She discovered romance stories in her early teens, falling hopelessly in love with knights in shining armor and the damsels who saved them.

Eventually, reading about alpha males and the journey to find their happy-ever-after endings wasn’t enough. She needed to pen her own stories of fated loves and soul mates. Nina’s discovered the passionate side of romance with her sexy stories. For her, it’s all about the sweet scent of seduction mixed with the heart warming aroma of romance.

Nina resides in the northeast with her high school sweetheart and soul mate of twenty-seven years, their three grown children and several very spoiled cats who consider her “staff”.

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2011 in Writer/Author

 

The Comforts of Home by Jodi Thomas

buy this book

In Harmony, Texas, twenty-year-old Reagan Truman has found her place, and found her family. But with her uncle taken ill and her friend Noah lost and disheartened with his life, Reagan is afraid of ending up alone again, and she’s not the only one. When a terrible storms threatens the town, the residents of Harmony are forced to think about what they really want. Because making the connections they so desperately desire means putting their hearts at risk…

A fifth generation Texan, Jodi Thomas chooses to set the majority of her novels in her home state.

The stories Thomas has committed to paper have earned her an impressive list of distinguished awards. Her first book, BENEATH THE TEXAS SKY (1988), won the National Press Women’s Novel of the Year in its category. Book two, NORTHERN STAR (1990), was named best novel by the (Texas) Panhandle Professional Writers and the Oklahoma Writers Federation, Inc., an organization of writers’ groups from several states. Book three, THE TENDER TEXAN (1991), was Thomas’s first national bestseller and won her the first of her Romance Writers of America RITA’s, the $1.5 billion romance publishing industry‘s equivalent of an “Oscar.” Jodi won her second RITA for TO TAME A TEXAN’S HEART (1994). Book twelve, TO KISS A TEXAN (1999) was her first novel to score on the USA TODAY Best-selling Books list. For THE TEXAN’S WAGER (2002), sixteen was the magic number.

come see her wonderful books

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2011 in Writer/Author

 

The Wild Hog Murders: A Dan Rhodes Mystery (Sheriff Dan Rhodes Mysteries)

By Bill Crider

buy this book

Like most of the rest of Texas, Blacklin County is being overrun with feral hogs that destroy farmland and crops. There’s hardly any defense against these pests, but they haven’t been the cause of murder. Until now. A mother and son have opened an animal shelter in the county and they welcome even feral hogs. Someone’s threatened them by slaughtering one of their animals and leaving it on their doorstep. Then Sheriff Dan Rhodes and Deputy Ruth Grady stumble across a dead man while searching the woods for a convenience storerobber.The investigation into the man’s death is complicated by angry hog hunters, a crusading talk-show host, a bounty hunter named Hoss, conflicts with the county commissioners, and the reappearance of Rapper and Nellie, the inept two-man motorcycle gang that’s caused Rhodes considerable trouble in the past. By the time he’s sorted through all the clues, Rhodes discovers that quite a few people aren’t who they seemed to be, including those he’s known for a long time. And some of them are killers.

Award-winning author Bill Crider has written an endearing and consistently entertaining series, and The Wild Hog Murders offers a fresh new chance to get in on the fun.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 20, 2011 in Writer/Author

 

Stolen Childhood by Laila Bevan

buy this book

These are the books that are hard to read, but the story must be told. This can happen any day or anywhere.

An incredible true story of a girl’s struggle through an abusive childhood and how she survived against the odds. This heart wrenching story although harrowing shows that there can be life beyond a stolen childhood!

from Author Laila Bevan

I started to write this book in January of 2008 and I finished writing my story in August of 2009. At first I was not sure where to start and how I was going to manage to write my story in English, especially as I am Norwegian. I didn’t know how much I would remember, and I didn’t know if I could put into writing the events that I could recollect. I wanted to tell my story just as it was, so I decided I would begin by writing about just one experience that came to mind, in order to prove to myself that I could in fact express myself in writing. I wanted to write my story as I experienced it, and how I remembered it. I also wanted to write about how I felt and the thoughts that were in my mind as a child. I didn’t want to disguise the truth by removing the bad language that was spoken to me. The words were more painful than any of the beatings.

When I had completed the introduction, I put aside the project, trying to convince myself that I would never be able to write the book. Three months later, I knew I had to persevere with the project and continue with my story. I had been totally healed years before from my broken background, and I have preached at many churches, in several countries, about the things I went through to help people realize that there can be a life beyond a broken childhood.

A scar is evidence of a place that once endured pain, and possibly bled, but it doesn’t hurt anymore–it’s just a mark. I compare my life to a scar. As I tell my story at different church venues around the world, I show people the “scars” in my soul that once bled, the scars that were a result of so much suffering. But during the process of sharing, I had felt none of the pain I felt as a child. I was healed and there was no longer any “blood” or sadness.

I was determined when I started this book that I was not going to just show my scars.

But it became a different journey altogether; it became an emotional rollercoaster! As I penned the facts of what happened to me and how I felt at that time, onto the paper, I felt as if I had physically reopened the scars of my soul once again, allowing them to bleed, feeling the pain from the wounds of the past. I didn’t realize that this extraordinary journey would transport me back in time, where I would actually become a little girl again, not only reliving those years, but also experiencing the exact pain I felt as a child. There were times during the writing when I felt the need to close my laptop and leave the room to find seclusion, where I could just sob and sob. On those days I was happy to be alone in the house. One day I ran into the bathroom, where I started to cry uncontrollably. The pain had become so unbearable that I shouted to God, if He didn’t take the pain away, I would not write one more word. I paused for a moment and took in a deep breath. When I cried out to God I suddenly felt a deep peace on the inside that I can not explain with words. The pain that I had felt while typing the passage I had just written left. A thought came into my head: “It will be okay, I will not give you more than you can bear.” I knew that thought came from God and I would be able to continue to write. I walked back to my laptop very relieved and continued my work.

Still there were times when I was unable to write anything for weeks at a time, sometimes months. I was scared, as I didn’t know what memories would pop up next and how many details I would remember. Other times I felt I was not able to type fast enough because of everything I could remember.

This book is about how I experienced my childhood, how I felt during the abuse, how I survived against the odds, and what effect my childhood has had on my adult life. It tells how a young mum, with a broken background, coped. We all react differently to the various things that happen to us. I have written about how it was for me and how it shaped me as a person, sometimes in a bad way, but how it ended for the good.

I have tried to write my story in the correct order of events, but there may be differences in dates and times of certain happenings.

I hope this book will inspire those who are still living in broken homes and are suffering under abuse, to be encouraged and know that their childhood does not need to dominate them for the rest of their lives–there is a future and a hope. There is a life beyond a stolen childhood!

I WAS NOT AFRAID OF DYING

BUT AFRAID OF LIVING

from the book

I ran upstairs as fast as I could, to the first floor, then to the attic to where my grandparents’ bedroom was. All I could think of was how to escape. “I have to get away, I have to get away” were the thoughts that raced through my mind, as tears ran down my cheeks. It really hurt this time, my brother had beaten me so badly, and whenever he started to beat me, he never wanted to stop. The more he beat me, the worse he got. It was as if he were driven by some morbid satisfaction of knowing what parts on my body to beat to cause the most pain.

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2011 in Writer/Author

 

Protector of the Flight (The Summoning, Book 3) By Robin D. Owens

buy this book

In the solid third entry in the Summoning fantasy series (after 2006’s Sorceress of Faith) by RITA Award–winner Owens, crippled, self-doubting ex-rodeo rider and horse trainer Calli Torcher is summoned from Colorado to Lladrana, a medieval French society on a magical parallel Earth, to assist in a dangerous fight against evil. There she meets two other Colorado women, Marian Dumont and Alexa Fitzwalter, known as Exotiques, who have risen to positions of power. After a spell heals Calli, she learns that she’s needed to help train the flying horses—volarans—and the Chevaliers, their riders, who form the front lines against evil demons from the north. Calli must also choose a mate, so she bonds with the skilled warrior Marrec, with whom she fashions a life and family. Though most appropriate for romance readers, fans of Anne McCaffrey and Mercedes Lackey will appreciate the novel’s honorable protagonists and their lively animal companions

If horses could fly…then Calli Torcher might ride again. But a devastating accident left her in such pain she thought the chimes and chanting in her ears were a hallucination…until she found herself transported to another world, and met the Lladranans who had Summoned her.

Lladrana was a parallel, magical earth filled with exotic creatures, noble humans and enchantments—all threatened by an encroaching evil.

And when the mighty volarans stopped obeying the Chevaliers, the flying horses’ unexpected rebellion had thrown Lladrana into an uproar. In desperation, the sorcerers had sought help from afar—and gotten Calli.

If she could fulfill this mission, perhaps she would also finally find all she had longed for—a mate, a home, a family. But against this great darkness, she had no battle experience, no strategy plans. She had only a bond with horses.

Robin D. Owens   Facebook     website    see all her books…

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 20, 2011 in Writer/Author